Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

2020 Class for R-MC Athletics Hall of Fame Announced

R-MC Hall of Fame logo

ASHLAND, Va. – Four outstanding individuals and one undefeated team will be the newest members of the Randolph-Macon College Athletics Hall of Fame.

Angela Bisland '02 from women's soccer and women's lacrosse, Charlie Boyd '89 from men's basketball, Mark Cola '97 from men's soccer, and Barry Landis '88 from football and baseball will be the individual inductees for 2020. Joining them will be the undefeated 1968 football team.

Bisland was a four-year letter-winner in both lacrosse and soccer. The midfielder was named All-ODAC First Team and All-America in 2002 after setting a program and ODAC record with 88 assists. Bisland also registered 109 points as a senior, a school record. She is second on R-MC's career assists list with 163. Bisland helped the Yellow Jackets win ODAC Championships in 2000 (14-4 overall, 8-0 in ODAC) and in 2002 (12-5 overall, 7-1 in ODAC). Bisland was Honorable Mention All-ODAC and All-State in women's soccer as a senior in 2001.

Boyd earned four letters in men's basketball. He was twice named All-Mason-Dixon Conference and three times was All-State First Team. In 1987, the Yellow Jackets won the Mason-Dixon Conference Championship and Boyd earned a spot on the All-Tournament Team. The following year, Boyd was All-South Atlantic Region First Team. During his senior campaign, R-MC finished 19th in the final NCAA Division II National Poll. Boyd is seventh on the program's career steals list with 152. He is ninth with 1,529 career points and ninth with career free throw percentage of 82.1%. Following graduation in 1989, Boyd played for the Milwaukee Bucks Summer League Team and was drafted by the Omaha Racers in the Continental Basketball Association. Boyd play one year of professional basketball in England for the Brixton Top Cats.

Cola was a four-year letter-winner in men's soccer. The goalkeeper helped R-MC post an overall record of 56-20-1 and an ODAC mark of 25-9-1. Cola holds ODAC and program records with 13 shutouts in a season and 35 shutouts in a career. He was All-ODAC First Team three times and was ODAC Player of the Year as a senior in 1996. Cola was All-VISA First Team three times and was named State Player of the Year by the Virginia Sports Information Directors (VaSID) in 1996. Cola was an All-Region selection four times and was named All-America Third Team in 1996.

Landis earned four letters in football and three in baseball for the Yellow Jackets. He played linebacker and defensive end for the football team and was named All-ODAC First Team as a defensive end in 1987. He recorded 79 tackles and six tackles for loss as a junior and had 89 tackles and a pair of fumble recoveries as a senior. Landis helped R-MC win an ODAC title in 1984 and host an NCAA Tournament quarterfinal contest. The Yellow Jackets were 27-11-1 overall and 15-4 in ODAC play during his four years. As a catcher, Landis was All-ODAC First Team as a junior and senior and earned All-State First Team honors as well. He batted .318 as a junior with 21 RBI in 24 games. As a senior, Landis hit .344 with a team-leading 31 RBI in 22 games. The Yellow Jackets were 65-30-1 overall and 45-18-1 in ODAC play during his tenure. Landis helped R-MC win the 1987 ODAC Championship at The Diamond. Landis is a Senior Producer for Fox Sports, working with the NFL and NASCAR. He is a three-time Sports Emmy winner for Outstanding Live Sports Series. He has been nominated 18 times for a Sports Emmy for Outstanding Live Sports Special. Landis will join his brother Tim in the R-MC Athletics Hall of Fame.

The 1968 R-MC football team posted a perfect 9-0 record, the only undefeated team in program history. The Yellow Jackets captured the Mason-Dixon Championship with a 5-0 mark. R-MC outscored conference opponents 226-41 and overall opponents 404-87. The Yellow Jackets finished third in the nation with 279.9 rushing yards per game. Mike Morris was Second Team Little All-American. Howard Stevens, a member of the R-MC Athletics Hall of Fame, led the country with 1,468 rushing yards and 142 points, earning Honorable Mention All-America honors. All-State performers included Morris, Stevens, Pete McElroy, Dave Wetzel, Joe McCue, Walt Zyglocke, Willie Kibler and Hank Fien. All-Mason-Dixon selections were Morris, Stevens, McElroy, Wetzel, McCue, Zyglocke, Kibler, Dave Evans and John Buonassissi. Stevens played for five seasons in the NFL. Ray Long was head football coach at Patrick Henry High School in Ashland and led the Patriots to the 1994 State Championship. Gothard Lane is the President of the National Council for Women's Lacrosse and former Assistant Athletic Director at Maryland and St. Bonaventure.

The induction ceremony is scheduled for Saturday, Oct. 3, 2020 in conjunction with R-MC home football game against Guilford.